County Treasurer

John A. Gallagher IIIStaff:
John Gallagher III, County Treasurer
Chris Mikowski, Chief Deputy Treasurer
Deb Radjenovich, Deputy Treasurer
Lori Stachnik, Deputy Treasurer/PRE Auditor

Leelanau County Government Center
8527 E Government Center Drive - Suite 104
Suttons Bay MI 49682

For General Information:
Phone: 231-256-9838
Toll Free: 866-256-9711x838
Fax: 231-256-7850

Mailing Address:
Leelanau County Treasurer
8527 E Government Center Dr - Suite 104
Suttons Bay MI 49682 

Treasurer's Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm (except holidays)

Your County Treasurer
John A. Gallagher III has been elected as the new County Treasurer for 2013. The County Treasurer is an elected official, a constitutional office with a four year term. The duties of the County Treasurer are determined by State Statute.

The primary responsibilities of the County Treasurer's office is as follows:

  • Collection of delinquent real property taxes.
  • Administration of dog licensing in Leelanau County.
  • Certification of Deeds and other real estate title transfers prior to recording by the Leelanau County Register of Deeds.
  • Receives, maintains custody of, and invests all county monies, including funds received by the Townships, Villages, Cities, and from State and Federal agencies.
  • We are responsible for keeping permanent records of tax rolls and delinquent tax rolls.
  • We also provide public services for tax histories to various agencies: banks, mortgage companies, title companies, and other interested parties at a nominal cost.
  • County Treasurer is responsible for the processing of the Forfeiture/Foreclosure properties.
This page last updated on 12/15/2016.