Planning and Zoning


The Planning Commission consists of seven (7) members. 

Chair Gail Hetler, Vice-Chair Frank Smith, Kathryn Danielson, Pete Ostrowski, Jared Pontius, Richard Hylwa and Village Council Representative Roger Suppes.  The Planning Commission meets the second Wednesday of each month (unless lack of business) at 5:30 p.m. at the Village office.


All land in the Village has a zoning classification.  Land Use permits must be obtained before starting most home improvements.  In addition, a permit must be obtained prior to fence installations, signs being erected, decks being added etc.  Please contact the Zoning Administration office at 231.271.3051 and they will be happy to assist you.  You may access the land use applications here.  Additional applications may be found under applications and forms.

The Zoning Ordinance was adopted in 2018.  If you have any questions regarding the document, contact the Village Zoning Administration office to assist you with this. 231.271.3051

To begin, go to Ordinance and Plans to access the Village Zoning Map to determine what district/area you reside in.  Once that is determined, find the article that will provide the uses allowed as well as the bulk standards that apply.


Zoning Board of Appeals

If an applicant wishes to appeal a Zoning Administrator's decision, request an interpretation, or need a variance request then the applicant may file a request to have the zoning board of appeals rule on said request. 

The Zoning Board of Appeals consists of 5 members.  They are:

Chair Donna Popke, Vice-Chair Marty Jelenek, Ex-officio Karl Bahle, Bill Perkins, and Frank Smith. 

This page last updated on 4/16/2019.